Our Blog

DID THE USGA GET IT RIGHT ON DUSTIN JOHNSON

On the 5th green at Oakmont, in the final round of the 2016 U.S. Open, Dustin
Johnson alerted officials that his golf ball had moved. The matter was reviewed and no
penalty was assessed under Rule 18-2 at that time.
Rule 18-2 of the Rules of Golf provides:
18-2. By Player, Partner, Caddie or Equipment
Except as permitted by the Rules, when a player’s ball is in play,
if
(i) the player, his partner or either of their caddies:
• lifts or moves the ball,
• touches it purposely (except with a club in the act of
addressing the ball), or
• causes the ball to move, or
(ii) the equipment of the player or his partner causes the ball to
move, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke.
An hour or so later — the USGA officials — employing legal sounding principles —
seemingly changed its position:
Our officials reviewed the video of Dustin on the fifth green and
determined that based on the weight of the evidence, it was more likely
than not that Dustin caused his ball to move. Dustin’s putter contacted the
ground at the side of the ball, and almost immediately after, the ball
moved.
See “USGA Statement Regarding Dustin Johnson” issued 6/20/16. (Emphasis supplied.)
Fortunately, Dustin Johnson won the Open by 3 shots, so the USGA ruling was not
an issue. But this series of events, and countless views of videos from the 5th green at
Oakmont, raise the question — Did the USGA get it right on Dustin Johnson?
Our office has discussed the matter. By a narrow margin, we believe no penalty
should have been assessed under Rule 18-2.
What do you think?

Neil T. O’Donnell, Esq.

O'Donnell Law Offices

Author: O’Donnell Law Offices

O’Donnell Law Offices
267 Wyoming Ave.
Kingston, PA 18704

E-Mail: contact@odonnell-law.com
Phone: (570) 821-5717
Fax: (570) 821-5799

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *